
Poor Ted Haggard! Again, he's back in the spotlight - not like he's on stage but like the bloodhounds are howling at his newly found scent, complete with helicopters buzzing overhead and that infamous searchlight, tracking him down! "Quick - the fugitive has surfaced! He's moving again!"
This month, HBO is airing "The Trials of Ted Haggard", a documentary following Ted and his family from their move immediately following his ousting to the last couple of months. He's become an insurance salesman and life just seems to suck! Of course, he was a swindler. Of course, he was a huckster. Of course, he was a hustler. Of course, he was a hypocrite. Of course, he hurt a LOT of people!
But here's a man, with a wife and kids, trying to find his place AFTER scandal. Is there such a place? I live in Baton Rouge, home of another such scandalous preacher: Jimmy Swaggart. He had the biggest "ministry" in the world in the mid-eighties. He fell about as far as one can fall. However, he seems to have learned his lessons, cleaned out his wounds and moved on. I hope Ted finds a way to do the same. I hope his family survives. I hope they all find peace.
Jimmy was a bit harsh - not so much now. Locals refer to this effect as the "pre-humiliation" and "post-humiliation" phases of Swaggart's life. Ted, however, was NOT a harsh preacher. He was very gracious. If Jesus' words mean anything, then the way Ted judged others is the way he is judged. So, God's not Ted's problem. TED - and other PEOPLE - are Ted's problem. In spite of the helicopters, spotlights, paparazzi and circus that has become your life, I pray you find healing, Ted Haggard. May you live to fight another day!
Peace and love . . .
dh
P.S. Thanks Andrew Jones for the pic (tallskinnykiwi.com)!

1 comment:
I'm no stranger to Ted Haggard. I have to disagree with your comment that "he was not a harsh preacher". He was just a little more subtle than others but he still preached the same hate... to millions of people!
I have to admit... I get a kick out of the irony of this situation. In a way I feel bad for him because he has been beat down, but at the same time I feel like he had it coming. Karma's a bitch.
I watched the documentary as well as his interview on Oprah. He still doesn't get it, but he's getting closer.
I hope that everyone can find some peace and I hope Ted can as well.
Post a Comment